What are you doing?

I think I get asked this question 427 times a day. Little j loves to ask, “Mommy, what you doding? What is that front door dodoing? What is that fridge dodoing? Mommy, what you doding?” Most of the time I just tell her what should be an obvious answer. “I’m washing hands.” or “I’m cooking dinner” or “I’m playing with you.” However, a couple of days ago I actually considered the question…what am I doing?

Most of the time I coast through the day or I’m barreling through the day. I feel like there is really no in between. I have goals I’m working toward and some days I do well and others I just…well I just don’t. I have objectives that help me define those goals, give me concrete steps. I have all the pieces, but the biggest question that I really need to consider is “What am I doing?” and more importantly “Why am I doing it?”.

Why am I trying to lose weight? Why am I trying to de-clutter the house? Why am I lessening technology? And so on and so on. I really had to sit and consider these things and honestly what I found out wasn’t all that great.

You want to know why I want to lose some weight? Because I’m a vain prideful human and I want to “look good”. It has very little to do with being healthy and feeling good and I had to readjust my mind and change it. That’s not fun to do. It’s not fun to admit that you’re vain and prideful, but it’s true. In order to ever change anything you have to recognize that it exists. You can’t fight hidden demons, you have to bring them into the light. We talked about this (In a much more broad sense, not so much about losing weight) at our small group with our church last night. We watched a video from Pastor Tony Evans and he talked about navigating our way through a room with the light on. It doesn’t mean the obstacles aren’t there, just that you can see them. It sounds so simple, but it means so much.

So then I had to start thinking about my other goals, what my motivation is behind them and I uncovered similar things. Many of them I just wanted to accomplish so that I feel like I’m a “good person”, like I “did something”…pride. Pride is just a beast and you can feed it and watch it grow and destroy the village, or you can starve it and watch it slowly die off.

I plan on starving it. Taking away it’s Cheetos. Sending it to bed with no dinner. I’m not going down without a fight! When little j asks “What are you doding Mommy?” I’m really going to think about it and I challenge you to do the same. Are you really living life the best way you can every moment? If not then stop and re-evaluate, several times a day if necessary.

I have been re-evaluating my goals, my purpose, my time and my blog! I have a lot of new things planned for my blog this year!  I want to incorporate DIY projects, activity ideas, recipes, videos (Scary I know!) and so much more, but most of all I want to stay true to why I started blogging in the first place. I want to live my life with joy and I want to encourage you to do the same and that will always be the core of what I do and all the other stuff is so you can get to know me more and hopefully learn a couple of things!

So as we go into this new day, new week and new year let’s not waste one more minute not knowing what we are doing and if you need some reminding I’ll send my little cutie over to ask you!

Leave a comment